Welcome: Using the Library

PubMed comprises more than 26 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full-text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites. Checkout out our PubMed Guide for additional guidance. 

CINAHL Ultimate is the definitive full-text database for nursing and allied health research. It offers full-text access to a substantial portion of the most frequently cited journals in the CINAHL index, surpassing other databases. Providing 1,815 active full-text journals, this database covers over 50 nursing specialties. Additionally, it features full-text quick lessons, evidence-based care sheets, continuing education modules, nursing instructional videos, and more. Checkout out our CINAHL Guide for additional guidance. 

Ovid helps researchers, librarians, clinicians, and other healthcare professionals find important medical information so that they can make critical decisions to improve patient care, enhance ongoing research, and fuel new discoveries. Check out our Ovid Guide for additional guidance. 

Scopus is an abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature and quality web sources with smart tools to track, analyze and visualize research. It covers over 16,000 peer-reviewed journals, and 431 million quality web sources, including 23 million patents. Check out our Scopus Guide for additional guidance

Embase is a unique medical literature database where comprehensive goes beyond content. With Emtree indexing of full-text content and dedicated search terms, you find all relevant and current results. Check out our Embase Guide for additional guidance.

Google Scholar provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature. From one place, you can search across many disciplines and sources: articles, theses, books, abstracts and court opinions, from academic publishers, professional societies, online repositories, universities and other web sites. Google Scholar helps you find relevant work across the world of scholarly research. Visit this page for information on how to link Google scholar with the Library of Rush University Medical Center.

The PsycInfo database, American Psychological Association's (APA) renowned resource for abstracts of scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations, is the largest resource devoted to peer-reviewed literature in behavioral science and mental health. It contains over 2.5 million citations and summaries dating as far back as the early 1800s. Ninety-eight percent of the covered material is peer-reviewed. The database also includes information about the psychological aspects of related fields such as medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, education, pharmacology, technology, linguistics, anthropology, business, law and others. Journal coverage, which spans from 1887 to present, includes international material selected from more than 2,200 periodicals in more than 27 languages. PsycInfo is indexed with controlled vocabulary from APA's Thesaurus of Psychological Index Terms.

The Cochrane Library (ISSN 1465-1858) is a collection of databases that contain different types of high-quality, independent evidence to inform healthcare decision-making. The Cochrane Library is owned by Cochrane and published by Wiley. Cochrane Library includes the Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews, Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials, and Cochrane Clinical Answers. Check out our Cochrane Library Guide for additional guidance. 

RefWorks is a citation management system that allows users to collect, manage and organize research papers and documents. Check out our RefWorks Guide for additional guidance.

Covidence functions as a web-based software tool that facilitates the management of systematic and other evidence-based reviews. Check out our Covidence Guide for additional guidance.

The Journal of Visualized Experiments (JoVE) publishes peer-reviewed scientific video article protocols to accelerate biological, medical, chemical, physical research.

UpToDate covers more than 7,400 topics in 13 medical specialties and includes more than 76,000 pages of text, graphics, links to Medline abstracts, more than 254,000 references, and a drug database. Physician editors and authors review and update the content continuously. An updated version of UpToDate is released every four months. UpToDate is evidence-based and uses a literature-driven updating system; more than 400 journals are monitored by editors and authors, and anytime something of importance is published, it is incorporated into the program. Check out our UpToDate Guide for additional guidance. 

VisualDx is a web-based visual decision support tool, merging medical images with a problem-oriented findings-based search.