Welcome: Using the Library

For a single article whose title you know, use the search box on our online catalog on the Library Homepage. You can also use the DOI of an article to search for it. 

For more advanced searching, it is recommended to build your search using Boolean Operators. If you're unfamiliar or need a refresher, check out our Guide to the Basics. It is also recommended to conduct these searches in databases, instead of using our catalog. When you search directly in a database, you can add filters, use subject headings, and combine searches that can help you build a much a stronger search . We also have a individual database guides that will go over how to best use and efficiently search in several of our databases. These are found in our Tools and Resources Guide list. 

If you're searching for a(n) article(s) on a specific topic, it might be easier to search directly in a database. Rush subscribes to many databases! Here is where you can find a cumulative list of our databases: Literature Databases. You can also check out our collection of Database Guides that will provide step-by-step instructions on how to get started. If you would like additional assistance, schedule an appointment with one of our librarians. Check out Librarian Assistance for more information. 

Google Scholar is a collection of citations from scholarly literature from a wide variety of specialties. Google Scholar is free to search and can be a good option to help you find articles. You can even link Rush's journal subscriptions to Google Scholar, making it easier to obtain full text access. For more information on how to do that and other tips, check out our Google Scholar Guide. 

Interlibrary loan (ILLiad) can be used to request PDFs of journal articles and book chapters and physical items which are not available through the I-Share network.  ILLiad is the online interlibrary loan request and delivery system used at Rush for more details visit our Borrowing Guide.

If you're having trouble accessing the full text, please fill out our Ask a Question form and choose the "Get help accessing a specific book, article, journal, or other item" option. You can also email us at library@rush.edu.