Covidence

Covidence provides the opportunity for you to manually attach a PDF of the full text to each citation that "passed" the title/abstract screening.  While it is not necessary to do so, Covidence provides this functionality so that all reviewers have the full text immediately available to them.  This also ensures that all reviewers are screening the same version of the article. Similar to the process if you were writing an article without the assistance of Covidence, PDFs do need to be individually located and manually attached.

If you already have a PDF of the article, simply click "Add Full Text" next to the appropriate citation, then select the PDF.

If you need to locate the articles, it is often easiest to find the articles (and accompanying full text) by using the red Primo search box on the library's website or by using Google Scholar.  This keeps you from having to check various databases to find which one has each article.

Using the red Primo search box:

• locate the citation by typing in the article's title. It often helps to put the title in quotes so that the search engine does not break up that phrase. 
• click the title and it should bring you to the full text, which you can download as a PDF.
• go back into Covidence, find the appropriate citation, and click Attach Full Text.  It will allow you to attach the PDF.

Using Google Scholar:

• from the library's home page, click "Google Scholar." To get to the articles which require a subscription, you must either be on campus or access Google Scholar from the library home page. 
• once you're in Google Scholar, locate the citation. It often helps to put the title in quotes so that the search engine does not break up that phrase. 
• if there is a PDF freely available, it will be in the right column. Download the PDF.
• if you don't see it in the right column, click the title and it should bring you to the full text, which you can download as a PDF.
• if you get a message that you need to pay for the full text, try our interlibrary loan services.  Click the two arrows at the end of the citation.  This will open up a link to "Get It @ RUSH."  Follow the steps to full text then download the PDF.
• go back into Covidence, find the appropriate citation, and click Attach Full Text.  It will allow you to attach the PDF.

Once you download the PDF you have two options: you can upload it to Covidence (individually) or you can do a bulk upload. To do the bulk upload, keep all your PDFs in one folder then follow these instructions: bulk uploads

If RUSH doesn't subscribe to the journal that publishes the article you need, you can request it through ILLiad, our interlibrary loan process.  Click here for more information on submitting an ILLiad request.  Note: you do not need to worry about copyright with these articles. Since the only people who will be seeing and using this article are the members of your team, that is a limited enough audience that it is considered fair for you to use it without concerns.