Tools for Clinical Care

Online collection of medical reference texts that provide medical data. Access the information necessary for completing evaluations, diagnoses, case management decisions, conducting research, medical education, or self-assessment and board review.

Database of quality-assessed, clinically rated original studies and reviews from over 130 clinical journals.

Best Practice brings together regularly updated research evidence and guidelines with peer-reviewed expert opinion. Healthcare professionals get information they can trust quickly — and in an intuitive format that recognizes the demands of everyday clinical practice. Best Practice is the only point of care tool to include a clinical workflow component, anticipating clinical questions and providing answers in seconds without sifting through large quantities of text.

Database of literature related to nursing and allied health. Journals are indexed from the following fields: cardiopulmonary technology, physical therapy, emergency service, physician assistant, health education, radiologic technology, medical/ laboratory, technology therapy, medical assistant, social service/health care, medical records, surgical technology, and occupational therapy. Available through Ebscohost.

ClinicalKey is a dynamic clinical resource designed to provide physicians with fast, clinically-relevant answers from Elsevier’s enormous library of proprietary medical and surgical content. ClinicalKey was built specifically to meet the search needs of physicians that a clinical resource be comprehensive, trusted, and fast.

Developed by the National Institutes of Health (NIH). Provides current information about clinical research studies. Available at http://clinicaltrials.gov

The Cochrane Library (ISSN 1465-1858) is a collection of databases that contain different types of high-quality, independent evidence to inform healthcare decision-making. The Cochrane Library is owned by Cochrane and published by Wiley. Cochrane Library includes the Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews, Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials, and Cochrane Clinical Answers. Check out our Cochrane Library Guide for additional guidance. 

Full text database containing critical assessments of systematic reviews regarding diagnosis, prevention, rehabilitation, screening, and treatment. Available through Ebscohost.

A database that offers studies of the medical, social, ethical, and economic implications of healthcare interventions. Contains ongoing and completed research based on trials, questionnaires and economic evaluations.

A source for evidence-based clinical practice guidelines sponsored by the Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality in partnership with the American Medical Association and the American Association of Health Plans.

An evidence-based database created by the editors of Pharmacist’s Letter and Prescriber’s Letter that contains monographs on natural medicines, including safety, effectiveness, adverse reactions, interactions, and dosage and administration.

The largest biomedical information database in the world. Produced by the National Library of Medicine (NLM). Also available through PubMed.

Ovid also provides access to:

• MEDLINE In Process and Other Non-Indexed Citations, which offers basic information about articles received, but not yet completely indexed in MEDLINE.
  
• Old MEDLINE, a database for articles from international biomedical journals covering the fields of medicine, preclinical sciences, and allied health sciences, originally printed in hardcopy indexes published from 1946 through 1965.

Contains information about cancer treatment, screening, prevention, genetics, and supportive care, plus clinical trials. Produced by the National Cancer Institute (NCI).

Covers literature in psychology and related disciplines including medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, education, pharmacology, and physiology.

Includes citations for biomedical articles back to 1948. This is the interface to Medline produced by the National Library of Medicine (NLM).

The largest abstract and citation database in the world. Covers 18,000 journals from more than 5,000 international publishers. Scopus also covers 359 million quality web sources, including 24 million patents.

An evidence-based clinical information resource specifically designed to answer clinical questions that arise in daily practice.

This web-based visual decision support database combines medical images with a problem-oriented findings-based search. Search by diagnosis, medication, or patient finding, or use the differential diagnosis builder.