Library Webpage

The website of the Library of RUSH University Medical Center has many valuable features.  This guide will explore some of the options.

Primo is a single search tool to find books, eBooks, articles, journals, video and more!

The search box is ideal for a quick or preliminary search. It is not a federated search; does not search all of RUSH's research databases (Scopus, PubMed, CINAHL, etc.) at once. To conduct a thorough literature review, you will need to search specific databases – PubMed, Ovid, CINAHL, Scopus, etc. – separately and build a proper search strategy.

This search box will return citations, with links to the full text of the article (or a link to ILLiad, our interlibrary loan request system).

The easiest way to search is to leave the drop-down boxes to their default settings, and simply type your keywords in the large search box (the one that reads "Search everything: books....") 

What are the options in those drop-down boxes?

What does "Primo" search?  if you're looking for articles, don't change this drop-down box.  Leaving this at "Primo" will return articles.  It will search RUSH's collections, and also options for items available through interlibrary loan.

• Primo searches for articles about your keyword
• Databases brings you to a list of our databases
• Guides and Help will bring you to a list of tutorials written by RUSH librarians.
• E-Journals searches BrowZine for RUSH e-journal subscriptions.

What does "Everything" search?

• Everything: Searching “Everything” will present results from a variety of resources – scholarly articles, book chapters, images, videos, conference abstracts, dissertations, and much more. 
• Library Catalog:  Search under “Library Catalog” to see what resources – including books, ebooks, and journal titles – RUSH has in its own library. 
• Articles: Search under “Articles” to find scholarly articles on the topic of your choice. Keep in mind that this is only adequate for preliminary or quick searches for specific articles. To complete a thorough literature review, you will need to enter specific databases – PubMed, CINAHL, Scopus, etc. – separately and build a proper search strategy.
• All I-Share Libraries: If a book you need is not available through RUSH’s library, you can search for it under “All I-Share Libraries” to see if it is available at another college or university library in Illinois. More information about borrowing through I-Share can be found here.
• Course Reserves: Search under “Course Reserves” to find textbooks, books, ebooks, and articles that faculty members have placed on reserve for specific courses.