Ovid

Ovid is a popular method of searching MEDLINE, the largest biomedical information database in the world. MEDLINE is maintained by the National Library of Medicine, and contains citations dating back to 1946. 

You can access Ovid MEDLINE from the Library’s homepage. You may be asked to login via a proxy account login and password. This can be either your Rush Network ID, Epic ID, or a specific proxy login and password. 

Registering for an account with Ovid is easy and free.  Once you have created an account, you are able to:

• save your searches or individual records
• create alerts
• create "My Projects"

Steps to Creating an Account

1. Select the "Create Account" when logging in.

2. Fill out the required information using your Rush email. Then click "Create Account"

MEDLINE is the U.S. National Library of Medicine® (NLM) premier bibliographic database that contains more than 23 million references to journal articles in life sciences with a concentration on biomedicine.  The NLM provides access to MEDLINE through various interfaces, including both PubMed and Ovid.  

Some key differences:

• The NLM's subject headings are called "MeSH" in PubMed (short for Medical Subject Headings). In Ovid they're called "Subject Headings" 
• PubMed offers unique tools, including citation matchers and an option that limits a search to clinical research information only.
• The filters that can be used to refine results (by publication year, language, etc.) are slightly different.

While the two interfaces offer various features, both Ovid and PubMed use the MEDLINE database as their primary source of content.

Once you click on Ovid MEDLINE from the Library's home page, you have four options to choose from. 

JBI EBP Database allows you to search a wide range of summarized and appraised evidence. They have over 3,000 records across five publication types: Evidence Based Recommended Practices, Evidence Summaries, Best Practice Information Sheets, Systematic Reviews, and Systematic Review Protocols.  You can also checkout the JBI EBP Database Guide for more details.

Embase is a biomedical and pharmacological database. It contains more than 40 million records including articles from more than 8,500 journals published world-wide. Embase can also be accessed through Elsevier. You can checkout the Embase Database Guide for more details. 

All Ovid Journals (partial MEDLINE coverage) 1993 to present searches all the journals published by Ovid.  It does not search journals from other publishers.  Not all of these journals are included in MEDLINE, so a search in All Ovid Journals might return new and different results. It also has hundreds of scientific, technical, and medical journals from over 50 publishers and societies. You can checkout the Journals@Ovid Database Guide for more details. 

Ovide MEDLINE(R) ALL searches all of MEDLINE, from 1946 to the present.  It overs the international literature on biomedicine, including the allied health fields and the biological and physical sciences, humanities, and information science as they relate to medicine and health care. Information is indexed from approximately 5,600 journals published world-wide. Their indexed publication go all the way back to the 1800s and are updated daily. You can checkout MEDLINE 2025 Database Guide for more details.