This guide will provide an overview of how to access the Rush Library resources; how to conduct an effective literature search; and resources available to assist you with identifying journals for publication.
ACP Journal Club's general purpose is to select from the biomedical literature articles that report original studies and systematic reviews that warrant immediate attention by physicians attempting to keep pace with important advances in internal medicine. These articles are summarized in value-added abstracts and commented on by clinical experts.
CINAHL provides indexing for over 2,928 journals from the fields of nursing and allied health. The database contains more than 1,000,000 records dating back to 1981. Offering complete coverage of English-language nursing journals and publications from the National League for Nursing and the American Nurses' Association, CINAHL covers nursing, biomedicine, health sciences librarianship, alternative/complementary medicine, consumer health and 17 allied health disciplines.
Refer to the library's CINAHL Help Guide for information about using this resource.
ClinicalKey is a dynamic clinical resource designed to provide physicians with fast, clinically-relevant answers from Elsevier’s enormous library of proprietary medical and surgical content. ClinicalKey was built specifically to meet the search needs of physicians that a clinical resource be comprehensive, trusted, and fast.
ClinicalTrials.gov provides patients, family members, health care professionals, and members of the public easy access to information on clinical trials for a wide range of diseases and conditions. The U.S. National Institutes of Health (NIH), through its National Library of Medicine (NLM), has developed this site in collaboration with all NIH Institutes and the Food and Drug Administration (FDA).
The Cochrane Library (ISSN 1465-1858) is a collection of databases that contain different types of high-quality, independent evidence to inform healthcare decision-making. The Cochrane Library is owned by Cochrane and published by Wiley.
Cochrane Library includes the Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews, Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials, and Cochrane Clinical Answers.
The Health Technology Assessment (HTA) database provides details of completed and ongoing health technology assessments (studies of the medical, social, ethical and economic implications of healthcare interventions) from around the world. The aim of the database is to improve the quality and cost-effectiveness of health care. In addition to systematic reviews, HTA contains ongoing and completed research based on trials, questionnaires and economic evaluations. Included are more than 3,000 descriptive abstracts and nearly 7,000 total records. When available, links to summaries, full text or the web site of the research agency are included in the abstracts. The HTA database is produced by the Centre for Reviews and Dissemination (CRD) at the University of York, UK, using information obtained from members of International Network of Agencies for Health Technology Assessment (INAHTA) and other health technology assessment organizations.
Formerly Natural Medicines Comprehensive Database. Natural Medicines contains evidence-based clinical information, with references and citations to primary literature, for many natural medicines sold in the U.S. and Canada.
Ovid helps researchers, librarians, clinicians, and other healthcare professionals find important medical information so that they can make critical decisions to improve patient care, enhance ongoing research, and fuel new discoveries.
PDQ (Physician Data Query) is NCI's comprehensive source of cancer information. It contains cancer information summaries on a wide range of cancer topics; drug information summaries on many cancer-related drugs and drug combinations; and dictionaries of general cancer terms, drug terms, and genetics terms.
The PsycINFO database, American Psychological Association's (APA) renowned resource for abstracts of scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations, is the largest resource devoted to peer-reviewed literature in behavioral science and mental health. It contains over 2.5 million citations and summaries dating as far back as the early 1800s. Ninety-eight percent of the covered material is peer-reviewed. The database also includes information about the psychological aspects of related fields such as medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, education, pharmacology, technology, linguistics, anthropology, business, law and others. Journal coverage, which spans from 1887 to present, includes international material selected from more than 2,200 periodicals in more than 27 languages. PsycINFO is indexed with controlled vocabulary from APA's Thesaurus of Psychological Index Terms.
PubMed comprises more than 26 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full-text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites.
SCOPUS is an abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature and quality web sources with smart tools to track, analyze and visualize research. It covers over 16,000 peer-reviewed journals, and 431 million quality web sources, including 23 million patents. Refer to the library's Scopus Help Guide for information about using this resource.
The TRIP (Turning Research into Practice) Database is a clinical search engine designed to allow clinicians to quickly find answers to their clinical questions using the best available evidence. Registration is free.
UpToDate covers more than 7,400 topics in 13 medical specialties and includes more than 76,000 pages of text, graphics, links to Medline abstracts, more than 254,000 references, and a drug database. Physician editors and authors review and update the content continuously. An updated version of UpToDate is released every four months. UpToDate is evidence-based and uses a literature-driven updating system; more than 400 journals are monitored by editors and authors, and anytime something of importance is published, it is incorporated into the program.
For more information about registering for an UpToDate Anywhere to access UpToDate content and the UpToDate apps with a personal username and password, please refer to our UpToDate Anywhere & Mobile App guide.