Free and Open Access Resources

PubMed Central® (PMC) is a free full-text archive of over 7.5 million full-text biomedical articles. It is similar to PubMed, except that PMC contains only freely accessible full-text items.

Over 290 quality peer-reviewed journals in Biology, Clinical Medicine and Health.

Directory of Open Access Journals (DOAJ) is a directory of over 9,000 high quality, open access, peer-reviewed journals providing over 3 million free full-text articles.

F1000Research is a pay-to-publish collection of articles and other research outputs with no editorial input or bias. Articles are reviewed and rated by volunteer readers. Data is usually included.

Over 80 million PDFs are available, all in the medical sciences field.

HighWire is a leading epublishing platform. This site links you to their open access items; over 2,500,000 individual articles. You must browse by journal (not topic).

Bills itself as the world’s largest science, technology & medicine open access book publisher.

Impressive list of NCBI's databases (National Center for Biotechnology Information). Not all of these offer free full-text access but many do.

SpringerOpen journals and books are made freely and permanently available online immediately upon publication. They are subject to high-level peer review, author and production services ensuring quality and reliability of the work. Authors publishing with SpringerOpen retain the copyright to their work, licensing it under a Creative Commons license.

ClinicalTrials.gov is a database of privately and publicly funded clinical studies conducted around the world.

Coordinated by OCLC, OAIster includes more than 50 million records that represent digital resources from more than 2,000 contributors.

Resources for all ages, including professional