Skip to Main Content

No library services after noon on Dec. 22 and and on December 25, 2023 Library staff and services will be unavailable after noon on Friday, Dec. 22 and all day on Monday, Dec. 25 in observance of the Christmas holiday. The library will be unstaffed on Saturdays and Sundays and weekday staffed hours will be 8 a.m. to 4 p.m. until January 2, 2024. The library's physical spaces will be open to Rush personnel 24/7 throughout the holidays. Contact library@rush.edu with questions.

About
The Rush University Medical Center Library's modern collaborative spaces and comprehensive collection of literature, journals, and online resources serves the diverse needs of students, faculty, and healthcare professionals affiliated with Rush University and Rush University Medical Center.

About Us
Library Basics

Requests and Borrowing

Interlibrary Loan

Reserves

RefWorks Citation Management
About the Library

Library Staff

Policies

Service Guides

Off-campus access
Quick Links

Primo

Citation Linker

BrowZine

LibKey.io

Tools and Resources

Recent Acquisitions
Visit
The Rush University Medical Center Library is located in Suite 571 on the fifth floor of the Armour Academic Center.
Public spaces within the library are accessible 24/7/365 to all RUMC staff and Rush University faculty and students with a valid ID badge.

Hours & Directions
Visit the Library

Maps & Directions

Study Spaces & Private Rooms

Computers & Printing

Visitor and Alumni Access
Map
Services
Librarians and library services are available via chat, email, and online and in person meetings.

Ask a Question or Schedule Appointment
Research Support

Librarian-assisted search

Systematic Reviews

Research Assistance

Research Tools and Guides

Research Instruction for Students
Services for...

Students

Faculty

RUMC Staff

Residents and Fellows
Quick Links

Frequently Asked Questions

Subject and Degree Guides

Ask a Question or
Schedule an Appointment

- Log in to...
- ILLiad
- My Library Card
- Covidence
- RefWorks
- e-Reserves
Search

Primo

Primo

Databases

Guides & Help

e-Journals

for
Go to the advanced Primo search

Primo Search

Primo provides simple, one-stop searching for books and e-books, e-journals and articles, digital media, and more.

Borrowing books from other libraries
By default, your search will include item held by other I-Share libraries. I-Share includes more than 100 academic and institutional libraries in Illinois which lend books to Rush's patrons. To limit your search to physical books held at Rush (excluding I-Share items, which would need to be delivered to the library) select the Library Catalog option.

What types of material can I borrow from libraries in the I-Share Network?
Most physical books held by other libraries in the I-Share network can be borrowed by Rush patrons, but libraries may choose not to lend books in restricted collections (e.g. Reserve or Reference). In general, it is not possible to borrow e-books or e-journals from other libraries, but book chapters and journal articles may be requested through ILLiad, Rush's interlibrary loan system. Look for the ILLiad link to initiate your request.
Can't find it at Rush or in I-Share?
You can sign into ILLiad and enter your request manually.

Go to the advanced journal search Open BrowZine

e-Journal Search

Search Rush's e-journal subscriptions by title or ISSN. Note that this option does not search the full text or title of e-journal articles. To search for articles, try Primo, or use a dedicated abstract and citation database (e.g. PubMed, Scopus or Ovid).

database keyword

Go to the database list

Databases by Title

Database search allows you to locate abstract and citation databases (PubMed, Ovid, Scopus, EBSCOhost) clinical resources (UpToDate, VisualDx, CLinicalKey) and other library resources by title and keyword.

Search this Website

Search for help and how-to guides, program guides, topical guides, frequently asked questions, course and orientation materials, and other content on the library's website.

Free and Open Access Resources

Images

Images from the History of Medicine (IHM)
Provides online access to images from the U.S. National Library of Medicine’s (NLM) historical collections
NCI Visuals Online
NCI Visuals Online contains images from the collections of the National Cancer Institute.
NeuroMorpho
NeuroMorpho.Org is a centrally curated inventory of digitally reconstructed neurons. It contains contributions from dozens of laboratories worldwide and is continuously updated.
Public Health Image Library (PHIL)
An organized, universal electronic gateway to CDC's pictures
Visible Human
Complete, anatomically detailed, three-dimensional representations of the normal male and female human bodies; transverse CT, MR and cryosection images of representative male and female cadavers.
MedPix
The NLM's (National Libraries of Medicine) collection of over 60,000 medical images.