Let RefWorks do the Work!
Sure, you can format all of your citations manually, but why bother when RefWorks will do it for you? RefWorks is an online research/citation management tool that allows you to collect, store, and manage information.
With RefWorks, you can:
- create your own database of references;
- export references from article databases and from the Web;
- generate in-text citations and bibliographies
For help getting started with RefWorks, see the RefWorks guide and handouts below or contact the library at (312) 942-5950 or library@rush.edu to schedule an appointment with a librarian. We're always more than happy to help!
- RefWorks 2.0 Adding Citations (New)Directions for creating and adding citations to your RefWorks 2.0 account.
- RefWorks 2.0: Building a BibliographyDirections for creating a bibliography using your RefWorks 2.0 account.
What is a citation?
A citation formally acknowledges the source of your information and provides the reader with the information required to locate that source.
A citation has two halves:
- In-text citation: a parenthetical reference, footnote, or endnote within the body of your paper
- Full citation in a reference list (a.k.a. works cited or bibliography) at the end of your paper
Citations in almost any specific style contain the following standard components, color coded to the image on the right: 
- ___Title
- ___ Author
- ___ Publication date
- ___ Publisher or source
- ___ Start and end pages
Citations for electronic sources also generally include:
- ___ Digital Object Identifier (DOI), when available
- ___ URL, if no DOI is provided
Citation Styles
American Medical Association (AMA) is a commonly used style. See the following resources for assistance manually formatting your citations in AMA style.
American Psychological Association (APA) is a commonly used style. See the following resources for assistance manually formatting your citations in APA style.
Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association by Call Number: WZ 345 P976 2010 (Main and Reference Collections)ISBN: 9781433832161Publication Date: 2019-10-01
Many medical and health science journals have developed their own citation styles. In order to publish within such journals, you will need to format your citations accordingly.
For journal specific citation style guidelines, visit the journal website and look for an author information or submission guidelines page. See, for example, the "Author Information" page for the journal, Respiratory Care.
- Instructions to Authors in the Health Sciences: Mulford LibraryA list of links to author intruction pages for over 6,000 journals in the health and life sciences.
Tip: RefWorks can format citations for many journal citation styles. If RefWorks does not contain a citation style, RUSH reference librarians can work with you to program the appropriate style into RefWorks.
The URMs, created by the International Committee of Medical Journal Editors, are commonly used among biomedical journals. See the following resources for assistance manually formatting your citations according to the URMs.
Additional Help
Please feel free to contact the library with any questions!
Email: library@rush.edu
Phone: (312) 942-5950
Ask a Question (online form)
