Rush University Medical Center Archives

This page compiles RUSH Archives blog contributions and our previous posts on the RUSH InPerson blog via the Internet Archive's Wayback Machine.

This page also includes articles written by RUSH Archives researchers who have utilized our resources as well as news stories related to the RUSH Archives and RUSH history. Explore these posts to learn more about the history of RUSH and the RUSH Archives collections.

Our Twitter account as of October 2023 is not being updated, but it is full of great evergreen content and photos: @RUSHArchives

Articles from 2023:

RUSH archivist spotlights historic RUSH EKG machine from the 1930s via @RUSHMedical on Instagram [July 5, 2023]

"Eugene Thonar, PhD, 1945-2023: RUSH researcher was an impassioned advocate for people with disabilities" via RUSH Stories [April 26, 2023]

Women's History Month at RUSH: RUSH archivist Nathalie Wheaton spotlights some historic RUSH women and takes you behind-the-scenes of the RUSH Archives via @RUSHMedical on Twitter [March 28, 2023]

RUSH University 50th Anniversary: RUSH archivist Nathalie Wheaton spotlights RUSH University's Armour Academic Center via @RUSHUniversity on Instagram [February 25, 2023]

RUSH University 50th Anniversary: RUSH archivist Nathalie Wheaton spotlights RUSH's historic nursing schools via @RUSHUniversity on Instagram [February 3, 2023]

Articles from 2022:

"Remembering Tibor T. Glant, MD, PhD, DMSc: Glant served as the Jorge O. Galante, MD, DMSc, Professor of Orthopedic Surgery for 22 years" via RUSH Stories [October 27, 2022]

"Ahead of her Time: Blanche Crozier, BU Law graduate, 1933..." by Rebecca Beyer, from The Record: News & Stories from BU Law [October 20, 2022]

"Emily Blackwell’s Medical School Betrayal: 'Duplicity and Double Dealing Somewhere' " by John M. Harris, Jr., MD, from the Journal of Medical Biography [October 17, 2022]

Karen Van Dyke Lamb, DNP: Nearly Five Decades of Dedication to RUSH: Passion for nursing education leads one RUSH alumna and retired faculty member to leave a lasting legacy via RUSH Stories [October 12, 2022]

"How the Chicago Fire Affected RUSH History" via @RUSHMedical on TikTok [October 7, 2022]

RUSH Stories: Remembering Kathleen 'Kay' Gainor Andreoli, DSN, RN, FAAN: Andreoli served as dean of RUSH University College of Nursing for 18 years and helped create its Doctor of Nursing Practice program [September 8, 2022]

"Thriving Together: How RUSH and the Chicago Tribune Have Been Instrumental to Chicago's Growth / Part 3: The Future of Healthcare Driven by Innovation, Shared Mission," part of Chicago Tribune 175th Anniversary series [June 19, 2022]

RUSH Stories: Remembering Jan Fawcett, MD, 1934-2022: Psychiatry chair for 30 years was national leader in depression treatment and research [June 6, 2022]

"Thriving Together: How RUSH and the Chicago Tribune Have Been Instrumental to Chicago's Growth / Part 2: A Mecca of Learning, Research and Innovation," part of Chicago Tribune 175th Anniversary series [June 5, 2022]

"Thriving Together: How RUSH and the Chicago Tribune Have Been Instrumental to Chicago's Growth / Part 1: Bold Beginnings," part of Chicago Tribune 175th Anniversary series [May 22, 2022]

Celebrating Asian American and Pacific Islander Heritage Month via Inside RUSH [May 22, 2022]

VIDEO: RUSH University 50th Anniversary Video via YouTube [May 2, 2022]

RUSH Stories: Women's History Month: The Life and Legacy of Public Health Nurse Iris Shannon by Glenda Morris Burnett, PhD, RN [March 29, 2022]

Women's History Month: Beatrice Edna Tucker, MD, (RUSH Medical College, class of 1922) from Northwestern University's Galter Health Sciences Library [March 21, 2022]

RUSH Stories: Women's History Month: Remembering a Champion of Equality: Reflecting on the life and legacy of RUSH researcher Irene Turner by Sharon Gates, DSW [March 15, 2022]

RUSH Stories: Women's History Month: Pioneering Women Physicians at RUSH [March 10, 2022] 

VIDEO: Celebrating Women's History: Role in the Medical Field via NBC 5 Chicago featuring Sherine Gabriel, MD, MSc, President, RUSH University, and RUSH archivist, Nathalie Wheaton, MSLS [March 3, 2022]

From the RUSH Archives: David Jones Peck, MD (Part 4) [February 27, 2022]

RUSH Stories: Celebrating Black History Month: Reflections on a Black Renaissance Man, Henry Binga Dismond, MD, by Aaron Franklin, DNP, RN [February 25, 2022]

RUSH Stories: Celebrating Black History Month: Reflections on an Inspirational RUSH Alumnus, Robert Jordan, MD, by Autumn A. Moore [February 17, 2022]

RUSH Stories: Celebrating Black History Month: Reflections on the Legacy of David Jones Peck, MD, by Theodore Corbin, MD [February 4, 2022]

VIDEO: Emily Blackwell at RUSH Medical College: Janice Nimura, author of The Doctors Blackwell, speaks at RUSH [February 2, 2022]

RUSH Stories: Celebrating Black History Month: Remembering a Trailblazing RUSH Nurse, Ruth Williams, by Angelique Richard, PhD, RN [February 1, 2022]

VIDEO: Nathalie Wheaton of the RUSH Archives shares a brief history of RUSH through its architecture via Instagram [January 20, 2022]

History of RUSH University Medical Center's Campus from RUSH News [January 12, 2022]

Articles from 2021:

From the RUSH Archives: National Immunization Awareness Month and the Work of the Drs. Dick [August 25, 2021]

From the RUSH Archives: David Jones Peck, MD (part 3 of 4) [February 15, 2021]

From the RUSH Archives: David Jones Peck, MD (Part 2 of 4) [February 8, 2021]

From the RUSH Archives: American Heart Month and Chicago's First EKG Machine, 1914 [February 4, 2021]

From the RUSH Archives: David Jones Peck, MD (Part 1 of 4) [February 1, 2021]

From the RUSH Archives: Glaucoma Awareness Month and Ophthalmology at RUSH [January 28, 2021]

From the RUSH Archives: Braille Literacy Month and Braille in RUSH History [January 26, 2021]

RUSH Stories: Michael Huckman, MD, 1936-2021: Early leader in Neuroradiology Helped Introduce CT and MRI Technology, Championed Equality [January 26, 2021]

From the RUSH Archives: Cervical Health Awareness Month and the legacy of RUSH's George D. Wilbanks, MD (1931-2012) [January 21, 2021]

From the RUSH Archives: Blood Donor Month and RUSH's Historic Blood Bank [January 19, 2021]

From the RUSH Archives: Martin Luther King, Jr. Day at RUSH since 1974 [January 14, 2021]

From the RUSH Archives: The Role of the Preceptor at RUSH Medical College, 1890s [January 12, 2021]

Articles from 2020:

Happy New Year! Remembering Y2K at RUSH [December 29, 2020]

From the RUSH Archives: Safe Toys and Gifts Month and RUSH Laryngologist Stanton A Friedberg, Sr., MD [December 17, 2020]

Jane Addams Day (Dec. 10) and RUSH's Central Free Dispensary [December 10, 2020]

From the RUSH Archives: World AIDS Day (12/1) and Remembering RUSH Organizer, Neil Forster (1958-1994) [December 1, 2020]

From the RUSH Archives: Happy Thanksgiving! Follow us on Twitter! [November 26, 2020]

From the RUSH Archives: Celebrate Your Unique Talent Day (Nov. 24) and RUSHapalooza [November 24, 2020]

From the RUSH Archives: World Prematurity Day (Nov. 17) and RUSH's Littlest Patients [November 17, 2020]

From the RUSH Archives: National Novel Writing Month and RUSH Neurologist and Novelist Harold Klawans, MD [November 12, 2020]

From the RUSH Archives: National Epilepsy Awareness Month: First Lady Hillary Clinton visits the RUSH Epilepsy Center, 1999 [November 10, 2020]

From the RUSH Archives: International Day of Radiology (Nov. 8) and RUSH's First X-Ray Machines and CT Scanner [November 5, 2020]

From the RUSH Archives: Diabetes Awareness Month, RUSH's R. T. Woodyatt, MD, and our Historic Diabetes Clinic [November 3, 2020]

From the RUSH Archives: Happy Halloween from RUSH Medical College, 1895! [October 29, 2020]

From the RUSH Archives: World Occupational Therapy Day (Oct. 27) and our First OT Departments [October 27, 2020]

From the RUSH Archives: World Polio Day (Oct. 24) and Advancements in Care of Polio Patients at Presbyterian Hospital, 1938 [October 22, 2020]

In Memoriam: Arnold Goldberg, 1929-2020: RUSH psychiatry professor was expert in self psychology and led Institute for Psychoanalysis from Voices from RUSH [October 2020]

From the RUSH Archives: Domestic Violence Awareness Month and RUSH's Historic Leaders [October 20, 2020]

From the RUSH Archives: National Mammography Day and the History of Mammography at RUSH [October 15, 2020]

Anesthesia at RUSH: Then and Now (Honoring World Anesthesia Day, Oct. 16) [October 13, 2020]

From the RUSH Archives: Remembering the Great Chicago Fire, October 8-10, 1871 [October 8, 2020]

Ask an Archivist Day! How Old is the RUSH Archives? [October 7, 2020]

From the RUSH Archives: World Cerebral Palsy Day and a Boy's First Steps, 1975 [October 6, 2020]

From the RUSH Archives: Emily Lyon Gary, First Woman Member of the St. Luke's Hospital Board of Trustees [October 1, 2020]

From the RUSH Archives: Medical Education during the Germ Theory Transition [September 29, 2020]

From the RUSH Archives: World Pharmacists Day (Sept. 25), Louis Gdalman and Poison Control [September 24, 2020]

From the RUSH Archives: National Preparedness Month and Hospital Disaster Rehearsals [September 22, 2020]

In Memoriam: Former RUSH North Shore Medical Center CEO James T. Frankenbach, 1953-2020 [September 21, 2020]

From the RUSH Archives: Commemorating World Patient Safety Day, September 17 [September 17, 2020]

In Memoriam: RUSH Neurosurgery Pioneer Walter Whisler, MD, PhD, 1934-2020 [September 17, 2020]

From the RUSH Archives: Remembering "Our Mexican Patients," 1925 [September 15, 2020]

Announcement: Share Your COVID-19 Stories with the RUSH Archives [September 10, 2020]

From the RUSH Archives: Remembering the Opening of PSLHSN, 1957 [September 8, 2020]

From the RUSH Archives: International Day of Charity, September 5, and RCSIP [September 3, 2020]

From the RUSH Archives: College Colors Day, September 5 [September 1, 2020]

Centennial of 19th Amendment: Women and St. Luke’s Hospital School of Nursing, 1920 (Part 4) [August 27, 2020]

Centennial of 19th Amendment: Women and St. Luke’s Hospital, 1920 (Part 3) [August 25, 2020]

From the RUSH Archives: National Radio Day, August 20 [August 20, 2020]

Centennial of 19th Amendment: Women and Presbyterian Hospital, 1920 (Part 2) [August 18, 2020]

Centennial of 19th Amendment: Women and RUSH Medical College, 1920 (Part 1) [August 13, 2020]

From the RUSH Archives: National Health Center Week (Aug. 9-15) and Mile Square Health Center [August 11, 2020]

From the RUSH Archives: Celebrating World Breastfeeding Week, first week of August [August 4, 2020]

From the RUSH Archives: Commemorating World Lung Cancer Day, August 1 [July 30, 2020]

From the RUSH Archives: Honoring World Hepatitis Day, July 28 [July 28, 2020]

From the RUSH Archives: RUSH Medical College Alumnus Chooses Ice Cream, 1918 [July 27, 2020]

From the RUSH Archives: Celebrating National Ice Cream Month (and Room 600!) [July 21, 2020]

From the RUSH Archives: World Snake Day, July 16 [July 15, 2020]

40 Years Ago: RUSH University Registration, 1980 [July 9, 2020]

From the RUSH Archives: Cleft and Craniofacial Awareness and Prevention Month [July 7, 2020]

From the RUSH Archives: St. Luke's Hospital, The Woman's Board Fashion Show, and World War II [July 2, 2020]

From the RUSH Archives: Commemorating Scoliosis Awareness Month [June 23, 2020]

From the RUSH Archives: Honoring Alzheimer's and Brain Awareness Month [June 17, 2020]

From the RUSH Archives: James B. Herrick, MD, the 1918 Influenza Pandemic and Sickle Cell Anemia [June 11, 2020]

RUSH Archives Presentation (May 27) Now Online! [June 8, 2020]

From the RUSH Archives: Presbyterian Hospital and the 1918 Influenza Pandemic [June 3, 2020]

From the RUSH Archives: Want to learn more about Benjamin RUSH? [Online event hosted by UPenn Libraries, June 10] [May 29, 2020]

From the RUSH Archives: Commemorating Skin Cancer Awareness Month [May 26, 2020]

Leonidas Berry [RUSH Medical College, class of 1929] and the African Methodist Episcopal Church from the U.S. National Library of Medicine [May 21, 2020]

From the RUSH Archives: Researching Early RUSH Medical College Alumni (Part 1) [May 21, 2020]

From the RUSH Archives: Honoring American Stroke Awareness Month [May 19, 2020]

From the RUSH Archives: The Williams Family Collection [May 14, 2020]

From the RUSH Archives: Commemorating Better Hearing and Speech Month [May 12, 2020]

50 Years Ago: Lincoln Park Zoo Animals Visit Pediatric Patients at RUSH, 1970 [May 7, 2020]

From the RUSH Archives: Celebrating National Nurses Week [May 5, 2020]

From the RUSH Archives: Honoring Autism Awareness Month [April 28, 2020]

From the RUSH Archives: Honoring National DNA Day, April 25 [April  22, 2020]

Women's History Month: Isabella C. Herb, MD from Northwestern University's Galter Health Sciences Library [March 2020]

In Memoriam: Oncologist Janet Wolter, MD, 1926-2020 [February 2020]

Chicago’s first hospice donates papers to UIC: ‘We existed for our patients and families’, UIC Today [February 3, 2020]

A Tale of Two Solomons by Menachem Posner, chabad.org [February 2020]

Articles from 2019:

18 Earn Digital Archives Specialist Certificates from Society of American Archivists, SAA [November 2019]

Event: Battling for the Honor of ‘Old RUSH’: Sports at RUSH Medical College, 1892-1904, Chicago Area Medical Archivists Symposium [September 20, 2019]

Event: Unique Archival Resources for Genealogy Research, CCC and CAA at the Harold Washington Library [August 28, 2019]

Nathalie Wheaton from RUSH University Medical Center Archives Chicago Collections Consortium Member Spotlight [ March 21, 2019]

Performers Dr. Pembroke & Kolzac Reenact Historic Medical Procedures for RUSH University Students , ALHHS  [January 2019]

Articles from 2018:

Jones Staircase Unveiling Event in Armour hosted by Nathalie Wheaton and Larry Goodman, MD,  CEO, RUSH University Medical Center and CEO, RUSH System [September 12, 2018]

The Founding of RUSH Medical College by Joseph deBettencourt, RUSH Medical College student, in Hektoen International: A Journal of the Medical Humanities [August 23, 2018]

Life-Saving Poison Control Centers Have Origins at RUSH, The Watermark newsletter of the ALHHS [Fall 2018]

Life-Saving Poison Control Centers Have Origins at RUSH [August 13, 2018]

Get an “Insider’s Look” into Chicago history with RUSH archivist, Nathalie Wheaton [June 4, 2018]

Acknowledgements: The manuscript works of S. Fred Prince (1857–1949) by S. B. Calahan and J. W. Dean, Archives of Natural History [April 2018]

Articles from 2017:

RUSH in the First World War: L. C. Gatewood, MD, World War One Centennial Commission [2017]

Women Physicians at RUSH, 1900-1920 [March 27, 2017]

In Memoriam: RUSH Orthopedics Pioneer Jorge Galante, 1934-2017 [February 13, 2017]

Articles from 2016:

From the RUSH Archives: Tolerance [December 21, 2016]

Time Capsule Reveal at RUSH University Medical Center  from the Conservation Center newsletter [October  28, 2016]

Fashion Forward: Ninety Years of Supporting RUSH [October 3, 2016]

Event: Tour of RUSH University Medical Center Archives, Chicago Area Archivists [September 20, 2016]

In Memoriam: Klaus Kuettner, 1933-2016, "RUSH Biochemist Led Research on Cartilage," Chicago Tribune [July 5, 2016]

Holding on to Pieces of RUSH's Past [February 15, 2016]

References: Stein and Leventhal: 80 years on by Ricardo Azziz, MD, MPH, MBA, and Eli Y. Adashi , MD, MS, American Journal of Obstetrics and Gynecology [February 1, 2016]

Articles from 2015:

In Memoriam: Reginald "Hats" Adams, 1940-2015 [November 17, 2015]

Articles from 2014:

From the RUSH Archives: James B. Herrick, MD [March 27, 2014]

Bringing Christmas Cheer to the Children's Ward, 1940 [December 10, 2014]

Articles from 2013:

From the RUSH Archives: A Visit from St. Nick [December 6, 2013]

RUSH Medical College and the Great Chicago Fire [September 23, 2013]

From the RUSH Archives: Nursing Through the Years [May 7, 2013]

From the RUSH Archives: Baby Check-up Day, 1923 [March 28, 2013]

From the RUSH Archives: First Electrocardiograph, 1913 [February 6, 2013]

From the RUSH Archives: "The Thrills of Television," 1949 [January 10, 2013]

Articles from 2012:

From the RUSH Archives: Christmas Caroling, 1938 [December 17, 2012]

From the RUSH Archives: Into the Tunnel [October 31, 2012]

From the RUSH Archives: Surgery at St. Luke's, 1913 [October 30, 2012]

From the RUSH Archives: Dietetics Class, 1907 [September 27, 2012]

From the RUSH Archives, Snake Surgery, 1983 [July 5, 2012]

News: Heather Stecklein to bid farewell to Chicago in July, CAMA blog [June 26, 2012]

From the RUSH Archives: RUSH Commencement, 1992 [June 4, 2012]

Remembering RUSH's Wartime Heroes [May 25, 2012]

From the RUSH Archives: Flag Day, 1991 [June 14, 2012]

From the RUSH Archives: RUSH Security, 1987 [May 8, 2012]

From the RUSH Archives: Daniel A. Jones Building, 1917 [April 17, 2012]

From the RUSH Archives: Time Capsule Opening, 1924 [March 6, 2012]

From the RUSH Archives: RUSH's 150th Birthday, 1987 [February 20, 2012]

Against the Grain Star of the Week: Nathalie Wheaton [February 10, 2012]

AIDS: Haring Murals Live on at RUSH University Medical Center, Windy City Times [February 8, 2012]

History of the Illinois Medical District, Chicago Area Medical Archivists blog [January 5, 2012]

From the RUSH Archives: RUSH's New Hospital, 1982 [January 5, 2012]

Articles from 2011:

John Benjamin Murphy, 1857-1916, Chicago Area Medical Archivists blog [October 11, 2011]

Isabella C. Herb, 1869-1943, Chicago Area Medical Archivists blog [August 19, 2011]

James Bryan Herrick, 1861-1954, Chicago Area Medical Archivists blog [May 2, 2011]

Frank Billings, 1854-1932, Chicago Area Medical Archivists blog [May 2, 2011]

Ludvig Hektoen, 1884-1951, Chicago Area Medical Archivists blog [March 25, 2011]

Arthur Dean Bevan, 1861-1943,  Chicago Area Medical Archivists blog [March 25, 2011]